With the Name Change feature, it's possible to lose track of people in your Friends List in-game. Who's that "Squiggish" person, and why is he or she in my flist, anyway?
Here's a little trick to help keep track: use the "note" feature to record the original name you friended them under. There will still be plenty of room for other stuff, as needed. It's no guarantee you'll remember the person, but at least you'll have a better chance.